What I’m Reading and Why You Should/Shouldn’t Read This Too

Hey everyone! Today is my first day of what is now my weekly “What I’m Reading” Monday posts.

As this is the first post in this new column, today’s will be a short one. I will tell you what two books I’ve picked for the week and then I will check back in with you next Monday, let you know how it went, and what two books are next.

So for the week of April 4th, the two books I will be reading are:

6 24612118

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

and

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Okay, so here is a confession. I have never read the Harry Potter Series. I know, crazy. I have heard from so many people that I am really lucky to be experiencing the HP series for the first time and I agree. It is absolutely amazing. The series has been incredible thus far and I can hardly put the books down. That being said, while I want to read all of the books, I also want to spread my reading out a bit to prolong the experience. That will make sense to some of you and not so much to others. But I am loving learning about the HP world and story and I want to keep loving it for a bit longer. So I’ve decided to read one HP book and then three non-HP books in-between the next. And I am currently on the Goblet of Fire

Also, just a bit of extra information. I have not seen the HP movies either. Well, now that I’ve completed the first three HP books, I watched the first three HP movies. And I am really enjoying the movies as well. The reason I haven’t seen the movies is that I always knew that I wanted to read the book series and I am the type of person who can’t see a movie and then read the book after. So there is no way I wanted to ruin the books for myself by watching the movies.

On to Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff. Some of you may have heard about this book. It had sort of a fantastic year. I mean, Obama announced that it was his favorite book of the year. And if it’s good enough for Obama, then it’s good enough for me. Maybe. I guess we’ll see. But really, I have heard such great things about Groff and I can’t wait to read this book and let you all know what I think.

Okay. I’m off to go read and do the whole adult-work thing.

Bye for now.

 

Leave a Reply

