May Reading Wrap-Up Part 1

Hello everyone!

So I got behind a bit on posting in May. But SO MUCH HAS HAPPENED. I’ve read a lot of books, I attended Sarah J. Maas’ event for A Court of Mist and Fury, I’ve packed up my entire house because I am moving in FOUR DAYS, I started my online business, and a lot more.

So let me dive into wrapping May up.

First of all, I finished the final three Harry Potter books.

I am such a fan already. Harry Potter will probably forever be my favorite character of all-time. Of course, there are other characters that are fantastic (Dumbledore, Hermione, Dobby, the entire Weasely family), but Harry has a special place in my heart.

Spoilers will follow now: 

I loved Harry the moment he faced Voldemort at the end of Goblet of Fire.

“He knew one thing only, and it was beyond fear or reason: He was not going to die crouching here like a child playing hide-and-seek; he was not going to die kneeling at Voldemort’s feet . . . he was going to die upright like his father, and he was going to die trying to defend himself, even if no defense was possible. . . .”

I was sitting in a coffee shop while I read that and I was crying. A lot. Harry’s strength of character and bravery is outstanding. The bravery of so many of the HP characters is beautiful. I think that is what made the final book so hard. All the characters who died did so bravely, for the greater good. And it broke my heart. Such a fantastic series.

Okay, Spoilery talk over. If you haven’t read the Harry Potter series yet, you definitely need to! I envy you, and feel free to comment as you start that adventure.

Next series that I read was:

THRONE OF GLASS by Sarah J. Maas.

Okay. So. I’m cheating a little bit by listing Heir of Fire here, because I’m only half way done with it, but that’s okay, I think.

I’m going to do this in a list form of reasons why I love this series:

  1. Caelena is a badass feminist character. She is tough, powerful and not defined by her romantic relationships
  2. Caelena is an assassin. This is the premise of the series. And Sarah J. Maas does not shy away from the brutality and the ugliness of that. I went into this series wanting realism and not a white-washed version of violence and war.
  3. And a final reason is that the characters are not stereotypes. Caelena is a girly-girl who loves buying things and eating sweat things. She is a strong (both emotionally and physically) girl, who is also very feminine, much like Buffy Summers (If you haven’t seen Buffy the Vampire Slayer yet, check it out while it’s on Netflix. Especially if you like the Throne of Glass series!

I am going to pause here. The Part 2 to my May wrap up (which will include the final few books I will be reading this month) will be posted tomorrow. It will include pictures and insider info on the ACOTAR series and ACOMAF book signing, new on my new Nerd Skirt business, and my review of Cinder, the first novel in the Lunar Chronicles, that I binged read last night because apparently everyone needs to read the series.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a message in the comments and tell me

  1. Who your favorite Harry Potter character is and why?
  2. Damien or Chaol?? I know. Not fair.

Bye!

2 thoughts on “May Reading Wrap-Up Part 1

  1. you’re so lucky to attend Sarah’s event. I really wanted to go,but then there’s a whole ocean between us. also, My favorite HP character would be Draco. I don’t know why. I just could relate my self to him. You know, having the whole family like depend on you and is kind of a stress to think about that

    Like

  2. Pingback: May Reading Wrap-Up Part 2 – Endlesslyshifting

Leave a Reply

